Return to Headlines

Two Craft Advisory Committee Members Recipients of the NFIEC Commitment to Education Awards

EMS teacher Sara McCartin and Electricity/Electronics teacher Bob Fritton were thrilled to learn that their two nominees for the Niagara Frontier Industry Education Council’s (NFIEC) Commitment to Education Award, Tri Community Ambulance and Nick Coyle (Local 237 International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers), were recognized by NFIEC at their spring forum.  Mr. Coyle and Tri Community ambulance have assisted their students at the Niagara Career and Technical Education Center with their support by being on the programs’ craft advisory committees. 

NFIEC’s mission is to build bridges between industry and education to benefit students.  Mrs. McCartin says, “I nominated Tri Community Ambulance for the award because many of my students do their clinical time them and some of my students are junior members.  Tri Community has come to the Niagara Career and Technical Education Center to show students the ambulance and tools EMS uses every day.  This volunteer organization, over 100 members strong, serves the pre-hospital medicine needs of numerous communities.   They also offer training and outreach to raise public awareness.”   

Mr. Fritton had this to say about Mr. Coyle.  “Nick visits the classroom quarterly to explain the daily duties of a union electrician.  Being an instructor in the union apprentice program, he has been an invaluable asset for us on keeping up with current trends and changes in industry.  He assists in preparing students for the apprenticeship application process and assists in placing students with contractors while waiting for their apprenticeship to begin.  He is supportive of training initiatives and has offered donations of equipment, along with helping students with job placement after completion of school.”

Orleans/Niagara BOCES is grateful to all our Craft Advisory members who donate their time and expertise to our students.  A huge congratulations to the 2023 Commitment to Education Award winners!

Three women and man standing


Man giving thumbs up